Event Calendar
April 2011
No announcement available or all announcement expired.

The President’s Visit and Annual Dinner 2011

The Republic of Ireland Branch were delighted to host Prof. Roger Plank, the current President of the Institution, for four days in February this year. During his visit, the President had the opportunity to meet with the next generation of Structural Engineers, at University College Dublin, to visit the award-winning Eircom Building and to be given a tour of the first mega-data centre outside of the US, the Microsoft Data Centre in Grange Castle. The Branch Committee would like to entend their thanks to all members who helped to organise these events. 

Visit to the Eircom Building: (L-R) John Dunny, Sadhbh Ni Hogain, Prof Roger Plank, Pearse Sutton, Owen Wynne, Phelim Devine

On Thursday the 3rd of February, the President addressed members of the Institution and their families in DIT, Bolton Street. In his engaging speech, Prof Plank spoke on how the structural engineering profession can add value and considered the growing opportunities for structural engineers to provide their expertise. On the same evening, those who have recently become chartered members of the Institution were presented with their certificates. The runners-up of the Branch student prize also received their certificates of merit from the President. 

2011 Annual Dinner

The highlight of this visit was the Branch Annual Dinner, which was held on Friday the 4th of February, in Bewley’s Hotel Ballsbridge. The event was well attended, and our guests of honour for the night were Prof Plank and his wife. The night began with the presentation of the Branch Prizes and Certificates by the President. The first presentation was to Martin Walsh and Alex Humphries, recent Civil Engineering graduates from University College Cork and winners of the Republic of Ireland Branch’s Annual Student Prize for their project ‘Event-driven Structural Analysis Software’. The Branch Prize was then awarded to Dr Holger Falter and Salam Al-Sabah, of Arup, for their excellent evening lecture on The Grand Canal Theatre.

Mr Martin Walsh is awarded the 2010 Student Prize

Mr Alex Humphreys is awarded the 2010 Student Prize

Dr Holger Falter and Salam Al-Sabah are awarded the Branch Prize for their evening lecture on The Grand Canal Theatre

Following this, Mr John Morrissey was presented with the Graham Wood Prize for the best steel solution in the 2010 CM Exam. This is a remarkable achievement, given both the standard and the number of candidates sitting the CM Exam. This year, to recognise the fact that the Republic of Ireland Branch has had 5 prize winners in the CM exam over the years, the past prize winners were invited to the dinner and a special presentation was made to each.

Mr John Morrissey is awarded the 2010 Graham Wood Prize

Five Branch Prize Winners and the President: (L-R) Mr Peter Brunner, 2005 AE Wynn Prize; Mr John Morrissey, 2010 Graham Wood Prize ; Mr Roger Plank, President of the Institution; Mr Michael Carew, 1964 Graham Wood Prize; Mr Eddie Fallon, 1975 Graham Wood Prize; Mr John Wickham, 2007 AE Wynn Prize

Finally the President presented Mr Eddie Hanlon, of the Irish National Building Agency, with a Fellowship of the Institution.

Mr Eddie Hanlon is awarded a Fellowship of the Institution

Following dinner, Prof. Plank spoke to the guests and thanked the members for the opportunity to visit the branch. He welcomed the members and in particular he thanked the guests, many of whom have a close relationship with the Structural Engineering community. Mr Tom Parlon then made the keynote speech. The Branch would like to thank to the staff of Bewley’s Hotel who ensured the smooth running of the event. Also, thanks must be extended to our branch secretary, Dr Colin Caprani, whose tireless efforts once again resulted in a successful night.

Some more pictures from the Annual Dinner:

Leave a Reply